Project Proposal 1 – “Communication is Key”

Honesty

To be completely honest, I’m not sure what I want to research or what my research question should be.  However, I have one or two ideas that I would like some feedback on.

Ideas

I think it would be interesting to learn about how students and teachers feel about positive feedback.  I have to give credit to Clara because she was thinking of doing something similar.  However, instead of doing traditional lore research, I wonder if it would be possible to create a video, almost like a documentary of how students and teachers feel about positive feedback.  This could develop into student-teacher relationships when it comes to feedback and communication.  I would have to do either ‘positive feedback’ or ‘communication’, but I would love to get the two different perspectives of either one of those.

Method

The reason I would want to do a creative research project rather than a traditional one is because I believe that being able to capture people’s emotions.  There are some people who have had really great experiences, and those who have had really poor experiences. I’m still not sure if doing a video or something would be beneficial, but it’s an idea I’m toying with.

Parting Thoughts

I think my best bet is the relationship between teachers and students — specifically over papers — specifically for English Majors.  I realize that there are many flaws to my research parameters, but I believe it’s worth developing.

One thought on “Project Proposal 1 – “Communication is Key”

  1. Mikala,
    I’d recommend starting out with a more traditional research project, but then the video would be a great remix option for you. You could certainly record interviews with students and instructors, and then you could analyze them for the essay and then find an interesting way to present them in the remix. Just keep working on what your actual research question will be: what do you want to know about how people feel about positive feedback? What would the payoff be? It could be how it relates to how people see themselves as writers, or about how willing (or not) it makes them to revise, or to visit the Writing Center, or something like that. In any case, looking at both student and instructor responses should be really interesting.

    Like

Leave a comment